About us

People

2022-2024 Executive

President Bill Kavanagh 709-864-2393 president@cupe1615.ca
First Vice President Shawn Organ 709-864-8906 sorgan@cupe1615.ca
Second Vice President Christine Ivey 709-864-8324 cgollop@cupe1615.ca
Third Vice President Diane Johnson 709-637-6249 djohnson@cupe1615.ca
Secretary Treasurer Natalie Webber 709-864-8476 nwebber@cupe1615.ca
Recording Secretary Scott Quilty squilty@cupe1615.ca
Membership Officer Mike Owens membership@cupe1615.ca

Stewards

If you have questions about our Collective Agreement or are in need of union representation, it is strongly recommended that you contact our CUPE 1615 Stewards group at stewards@cupe1615.ca.

Chief Steward Bill Kavanagh 709-864-2393 president@cupe1615.ca
Steward Shawn Organ 709-864-8906 sorgan@cupe1615.ca
Steward Christine Ivey 709-864-8324 cgollop@cupe1615.ca
Steward (Grenfell Campus) Diane Johnson 709-637-6249 djohnson@cupe1615.ca
Steward Natalie Webber 709-864-8476 nwebber@cupe1615.ca
Steward Scott Quilty squilty@cupe1615.ca
Steward Mike Owens membership@cupe1615.ca
Steward Alice Canning 709-864-4501 acanning@cupe1615.ca

Trustees

Trustee (Outgoing) Steven Smith 1 yr Term from 2022/01/11
Trustee Timothy Strange 2 yr Term from 2022/01/11
Trustee Bill Gin 3 yr Term from 2022/01/11

Equality statement

Union solidarity is based on the principle that union members are equal and deserve mutual respect at all levels. Any behaviour that creates conflict prevents us from working together to strengthen our union.

As unionists, mutual respect, cooperation and understanding are our goals. We should neither condone nor tolerate behaviour that undermines the dignity or self-esteem of any individual or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive environment.

Discriminatory speech or conduct which is racist, sexist, transphobic or homophobic hurts and thereby divides us. So too, does discrimination on the basis of ability, age, class, religion, language and ethnic origin.

Sometimes discrimination takes the form of harassment. Harassment means using real or perceived power to abuse, devalue or humiliate. Harassment should not be treated as a joke. The uneasiness and resentment that it creates are not feelings that help us grow as a union.

Discrimination and harassment focus on characteristics that make us different; and they reduce our capacity to work together on shared concerns such as decent wages, safe working conditions, and justice in the workplace, society and in our union.

CUPE’s policies and practices must reflect our commitment to equality. Members, staff and elected officers must be mindful that all persons deserve dignity, equality and respect.